Multigrain buttermilk waffles

Multigrain buttermilk waffles

Two weeks ago, I went on an excursion to Rainbow Grocery, and came back home with five different whole grain flours that I’d procured from the extensive bulk bin section. Oat flour, graham flour, barley flour, teff flour, and rye flour, to be specific. If you’d told me 10 years ago that I’d one day become slightly obsessed with collecting different types of flour and storing them in my freezer . . . well, I’m not sure I’d even know where to start with a proper response.

This is, of course, all Kim Boyce‘s fault. Everything I’ve made from Good to the Grain thus far has been so fabulous (rhubarb tarts, corn and cheddar muffins, oatmeal pancakes) that all I can think about is trying out every single recipe and sharing with others. Lately, I’ve been dying to try one of Kim’s multigrain recipes – hence, purchasing oddball flours at my friendly (well, sometimes) neighborhood grocery co-op.

The “multigrain” section of Kim’s book evolves around a multigrain flour mixture – just whisk together the following at home, and you’re in business:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup oat flour
1 cup barley flour
1/2 cup millet flour
1/2 cup rye flour

Heidi over at 101 Cookbooks has also experimented with her own multigrain flour mixture for a Multigrain Waffles recipe, with an emphasis on barley flour.

There are a bunch of drool-worthy recipes in the Multigrain section – beaten biscuits, popovers, baguettes, oatmeal cookies – but I decided to start with her waffles. Kim’s recipe is called “Five-Grain Cream Waffles,” using the multigrain mix, whole grain pastry flour, and heavy cream; I only had whole wheat pastry flour and buttermilk on hand, however, so I used those instead. Next time, I might use the 101 Cookbooks method of adding more barley flour in place of the whole wheat pastry flour.

Multigrain Buttermilk Waffles (makes 10-12 waffles)
adapted from Good to the Grain

1 cup multigrain flour mix (see above)
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or whole grain pastry flour)
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
3 eggs
2 cups buttermilk

Turn on your waffle maker. Sift together the flours, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda into a bowl. I don’t own a real sifter (don’t really want to spend the money on one, or take up more space in my kitchen), so I just use an old mesh strainer to do the basic sifting work.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and buttermilk until fully blended. Pour the egg/buttermilk mixture into the dry mixture, and with a “gentle hand” (as Kim says), slowly fold together the two mixtures until combined.

If desired, melt together 1-2 tablespoons of butter in the microwave. Brush the waffle iron (I used a paper towel to dip, dab and spread) with the butter (or use nonstick cooking spray). Our waffle maker produces two waffles at a time, so I poured about 1/4 cup of batter into each waffle square. Close the waffle maker and let cook for a few minutes, until steam stops coming out the sides and the waffles are golden brown.

We enjoyed ours with maple syrup and nectarine jam, but I imagine that any topping would be great (fruit, peanut butter, etc.).

One thought on “Multigrain buttermilk waffles

  1. Pingback: Cooking on my day off: rye multigrain soft pretzels and lemon-strawberry yogurt cake « Girls Can Tell

Leave a Reply

