Big cluster maple granola

granola

Granola was one of the first things I learned how to make. Back when I had multiple roommates and a bigger house, the whole place would fill with the smell of nuts and cinnamon and toasty oats. I’ve tried variations with almond butter, banana, coconut oil, olive oil, etc., plus all different kinds of nuts and dried fruits. Over the course of four years, I’ve only ruined (burned) one batch. I’ll call that a win.

With this Smitten Kitchen granola recipe, I was intrigued because it included a variation that I hadn’t seen or tried before: The inclusion of an egg white. The purpose of the egg white was to encourage the “big clusters,” as described in the title of the recipe.

What worked: The flavor of the granola was delicious – the maple really sang. While my granola didn’t really cluster as the recipe described, the egg white made the granola especially crispy, which was great. It paired especially well with yogurt.

What didn’t work: As mentioned above, my granola really didn’t “cluster” as it was supposed to. I don’t know why, but to be honest, I didn’t really care. It tasted great regardless.

Would I make it again?: Definitely!

Leave a Reply

