Vinegar slaw with cucumbers and dill, butternut squash and caramelized onion galette

slaw

butternut-squash

A nice weekend evening became even nicer when this vinegar slaw and butternut squash galette came into the mix.

Vinegar slaw with cucumbers and dill

What worked: This was easy to prepare (especially easy if you have a mandoline), fresh and tasty.

What didn’t work: Nothing in particular, but I think in general that this recipe works better in small doses, and would be ideal to bring to a potluck (or somewhere to feed a larger group of people). We had a ton of leftovers, and I got kind of sick of eating it after a couple of days (having said that, it’s nice that it lasts so long in the fridge).

Would I make it again?: Maybe, to bring to a potluck or picnic. I also think it would taste good on a pulled pork sandwich or something along those lines.

Butternut squash and caramelized onion galette

Goddamnit, this was delicious. And we got to enjoy it all week long!

What worked: Everything! I’ll admit I was skeptical, since butternut squash is sweet and I wondered if this would be feel too rich and sweet as a result. However, this galette was so, so tasty, and a beautiful dish (and made equally beautiful leftovers). The squash and the cheese and the thyme and the crust just sing.

What didn’t work: The only little thing I can think of is that this does take some time and effort to prepare – but I think it’s worth it, so there you go.

Would I make it again?: For sure. It would be especially great for entertaining.

Leave a Reply

